Thursday, May 23, 2013

Book Bucket List | INFERNO

Tuesday May 14 was a big day for fans of The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons.  Dan Brown released his lasted book, Inferno! (Cue dramatic music)  It has been four years since a new Langdon book, and 4 million copies have been printed in anticipation of the big release.

Harvard Symbolist Robert Langdon is back again, but this time he wakes up in Italy with no memory of how he got there, and with a very dangerous object in his possession.  Soon he is on the run, again, searching for clues from Dante's "Divine Comedy" to solve the latest mystery.

If you are super motivated and want to try to solve the mystery before Langdon, check out the original (and very real) The Divine Comedy by Dante.  This epic poem follows Dante's journey through hell, purgatory, and heaven.  It's considered one of the preeminent works in medieval and Italian literature.  Dante finished writing it in 1308 and took him thirteen years to finish.

The Divine Comedy is the perfect basis for Brown's new book, as it has numerous hidden meanings, numerical patterns, and about a million other mysterious literary elements that are still widely debated and studied today.

So if you're a history buff or a fan of Browns other mysteries, check these books out!

No comments:

Post a Comment